12 Signs & their Significations (Part II)

Before a list of characteristics for the 12 signs (like the 12 houses), a few other qualities in continuation of Part I earlier, regarding the signs are worth mentioning-
(III) Sign characteristics as per Gender of sign

All Odd signs are Male – Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Saggitarius, Aquarius

All Even signs are Female – Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, Pisces

The Male signs will tend be to more Extrovert, Pushy, Aggresive, Communicative, Destructive when negative, Assertive, Dominating

The Female signs will tend to be more Calm, Intuitive, Nurturing, Protective, Quiet, Introverted, Gentle and Emotional

Besides coloring the depositing planets with the above shades, these demarcations also come in handy much later on when determining gender of children/ siblings etc.

(IV) ‘Guna’ (inherent nature) of Raajsik, Saatvik & Taamsik

This is a deeper topic but to briefly touch it now-

Saatvik signs – Cancer, Leo, Saggitarius & Pisces – These are related to Higher spiritual thinking and behavior, Seeking out higher wisdom and truth, Meditating, Focussing, Worshipping God or Nature, Universality and Altruism in Thoughts and actions, Pure, Learned/ Wise, etc.         [Houses ruled by Sun, Moon & Jupiter]

Raajsik signs –  Taurus, Gemini, Virgo, Libra- These are related to Action and adventure, Passions/ desires, Energy, Seeking power/ Money / Fame, Ambitious and Materialistic (vs. spiritual)                     [Houses ruled by Mercury & Venus]

Taamsik signs – Aries, Scorpio, Capricorn and Aquarius – These are related to Pleasing the senses, Seeking lower order gratification of senses in form of intoxicants/ drugs/ Heavy food, Seeking pleasure in Carnal desires, Also when negative Tantric or lower order deity worship and Satanic practices, Loving occult and misusing power, Cruel in nature, Ignorant, etc.                       [Houses ruled by Mars & Saturn]

(V) Some other Misc. Significations

— Violent Signs – Aries, Scopio & Capricorn  [These signs ruled by Mars & Saturn tend to be destructive and Taamsik in nature and when afflicted in a horoscope will manifest violent characteristics

— Barren Signs – In terms of female fertility (for conception) Aries, Gemini, Leo, Virgo are considered Barren (not be fruitful for conception).

— Fruitful Signs – For conception are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces (the water element signs)

— Shirshodaya Signs – Rising head first – Gemini, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Aquarius – Planets in these signs will tend to give results in the First half of their ‘Dashas’ (dont worry about dashas or planetary periods for now. Its a predictive tool for later)
— Prishtodaya Signs – Rising with Back – Aries, Taurus, Cancer, Saggitarius, Capricorn – Planets in these signs will tend to give results in the Second half of their dashas

— Ubabodaya Signs – Rising both side – Pisces – Planets in this sign tend to give results in the Middle half of their dashas

There are many other ways to characterize signs. For now, these are enough to know. With a knowledge of planet characteristics and sign characteristics, a student can now begin to form simple equations in their minds which determine the overall nature of Signs.

In part III, I will post the Sign characteristics like the 12 houses, but someone passionate about astrology is advised to make the signs, houses and planets very intuitive by reading these posts multiple times. upto now, we are trying to learn the alphabet of astrology. Reading a chart is like reading a book, will come much later. But rest assured, these pages are giving you pertinent, compact info, all of which is very scattered when a new reader tries to get them through books/ articles. So Going in order and making these fundamentals solid is strongly suggested for those serious about astrology.

2 Responses to 12 Signs & their Significations (Part II)

  1. Pinky says:

    Why is Capricorn and Aquarius considered Taamsik if Saturn is all about sober hard work, as opposed to laziness and lower sense gratification (taamsik traits)?

    • VS says:

      Hi Pinky-
      Each sign has +ve and -ve traits. Saturn is ‘karamakaraka’ or significator of our actions. the +ve qualities of capricorn and Aquarius can be hard work, discpline, living in reality, practiality, management skills, organisation skills etc.

      But if the signs or ruler (saturn) or both are negatively aspected and under duress in a person’s horoscope, then the person will tend to be involved in the Tamsik Gunas. In its -ve form, Saturn is also the Karaka of all dirty, downtrodden, illegal/ unethical and basal levels things. The same actions when turned to gratification of senses is when the Tamsik aspects of these houses come out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *