Harsha Bala (Happiness Level of Planet)

Another quantitative measure of strength is Harsha Bala which is yet another underutilized and less understood measure of strength of a planet.

It is more extensively utilized in “Varshaphala” charts or Solar return charts (which are to be charted for each year in a native’s life as the chart of the exact moment when the longitude of the Sun is exactly the same as the longitude Sun had at birth)

“Harsha” literally translates into happiness. This metric measures the happiness level of any planet and can range from 0 -20 in its scale.

0 –>Low

5 –>Medium

10 –>Good

15 –>Excellent

29 –>Exceptionally Happy Planet!

The happier the planet, more fulfilling will its results be in its dasas/ transits. By experience a planet with a score of 10 or more gives good results and 5 gives low to medium results. A planet with a score 0 is agitated and does tend to give results smoothly.

Caveat is, this is a measure to be used in addition to other strength indicators and not independently.
Note – Rahu/ Ketu as shadowy planets/ nodes are not considered in this scheme 

How is Harsha Bala Calculated?

Four specific points are measured in Harsha Bala, each contributing a score of a maximum of 5 points each and hence a perfect score of 20 is possible, which would indicate an Ecstatic planet (very happy planet). These 4 points are –

I) House the planet is placed in

Each planet gets the 5 points when in a particular house out of the 12 houses. The logic behind each is lengthy and not discussed here but as a tip it relates to the places where planets have good directional strength, have their basic characteristics matching with the agenda of the house/ bhav etc. I mention the house where each planet gets the 5 points. Sun in 9th, Moon in 3rd, Mercury in 1st, Jupiter in 11th, Mars in 6th, Saturn in 12th, Venus in 5th.

II) Placement in Exaltation sign or Own/ Mooltrikona sign

If the planet is exalted or situated in its own house, it gets 5 points, else not. This is straight-forward.

III) Sex of the House (not sign) the Planet is placed in

The houses 1,2,3,7,8,9 are feminine. The rest are masculine. When a female planet sits in a feminine house, it gains 5 pts and likewise a male planet in a masculine house gains this strength else not.

Note- this is sex of the House and NOT Sign (example Taurus is a feminine sign but if Taurus is in the 4th house and a planet is placed in Taurus, it is in a Masculine House)

IV) Varsha Pravesha or Entry of the Solar year during day or Night

If the Solar yr chart enters after Sunset and before Sunrise (technically night time) the female planets get 5 pts of strength and likewise the male planets get 5 pts. each if the Solar yr is entered during the day time. This point is the reason why this particular strength is more relevant for Solar return charts or Varshaphala charts.

One Response to Harsha Bala (Happiness Level of Planet)

  1. Niru says:

    Interestingly, I had my biggest health scare in Saturn/Venus, both having Zero harsha bala in my natal chart. Of course there were other factors, such as debilitated saturn aspecting ascendant, saturn, venus and rahu (active dasa planets) all aspecting the 8th house in transit etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *